Breaking News

What We Do


The principle purpose of the Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association shall be to plan and advance the economic welfare of North Alabama as it relates to the tourism and travel industry, and to publicize, advertise, promote, and encourage further development of the natural, historic, and man-made tourist attractions and the recreational facilities and resources of the region through the cooperative efforts and support of the member chambers of commerce and other development organizations of the region and other Association members.

It shall be the further purpose of this Association to concentrate and apply its efforts on the facilities and services of the North Alabama region as a whole in such a manner as to enhance and compliment the work of each member.

It shall not be the purpose of this Association to substitute for or take the place of the members whose purpose also includes promotion and development of the tourist and travel industry.

North Alabama Counties Served by AMLA

Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Winston

Our mission is to better North Alabama tourism. Here are a few of the ways we are doing that:

  • Promote and facilitate travel to and within the North Alabama region.
  • Concentrate and apply our efforts on the facilities and services of the entire region.
  • Increase the awareness of tourism and its economic impact on the region.
  • Promote integrity, good faith, and equitable principles within our industry.  
  • Develop and implement marketing programs for the region.
  • Provide representation at all levels of government.
  • Encourage the further development of the natural and historic attractions in the region.
  • Provide cooperative efforts and support to local tourism development programs.
  • Establish a collective forum to protect and enhance your business interest.
  • Strengthen the travel industry in the region through a series of educational seminars.

2023-2024 Executive Committee

ChairDanielle Gibson, Decatur Morgan Co. Tourism
Vice ChairChad Davis, Joe Wheeler State Park
SecretaryTeresa White Taylor, Yedla Management Co.
TreasurerJerry Evans, Greenbrier Restaurant

2023-2024 Committee Members

Committee Member Joy Perry, Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce
Committee Member John Dersham, DeKalb Tourism
Committee MemberCarrie Barske Crawford, Muscle Shoals National Heritage Area
Committee MemberJamie Christian
AMLA Past ChairJennifer Moore, Huntsville Madison Co. CVB